top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIona James

60 Worlds

Last Friday I released "60 Worlds" a song which highlights the sexual abuse and violence of women and their unheard, or heard and disregarded voices.

I was triggered to write it after hearing about another celebrity whom had seemingly got away with it due to his wealth. This person had had been released from prison, despite being guilty of sexual assaulting many women, due to a problem with his trial. Not that he wasn't guilty but due to an error. 60 of the women had come forward to disclose his horrendous acts, yet he was allowed to leave jail because of a technicality, because he enough money to hire lawyers to find this.

Every year I am aware of a new paper articles detailing women who filed charges for rapes or assaults and those acts are never brought to justice or those that are, are made by lawyers to be guilty themselves because they drank, because they wore something they shouldn't have, because they like sex, god forbid. It makes me so mad, so upset and so deeply hurt. I have 2 boys, and I hope I am bringing them up to respect women, to understand no, and to respect that decision. I also am grateful after wishing for a girl for many years that I didn't have one because I do not need to worry this ever happening to her.

On releasing my song I have had messages from women whom have had to deal with this trauma and those who have not had justice. I myself in a similar situation.

I am surrounded by loving men, respectful and caring and I understand with my heart that this is not every man, but it is some, the few but just because its hard to say doesn't mean it shouldn't be said .

1 in 4 women have experienced sexual abuse or sexual violence.

One in four, let that just sink in... look around and see, your in a shop, how many women do you see. How many women are in your family? its not all of them but dear god its alot.

I wanted to show support, raise these issues and show that its not ok. Its not ok, to ignore them, its not ok to blame women for them, its not ok for it to continue.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page